Oni Central Forum

A forum for the Oni community

You are not logged in.

#1 04/21/09 20:04

Phydur
Member
Registered: 01/13/07

Changing a move's controls

is there a way I can change what buttons to press to do a specific attack?
im making a fighting shinatama (i think, if im doing it right, im not sure)
and i want to give her the grunts 'back massage'  (the run toward back, punch)
but i want to change it to run toward back, kick.

so basicly im asking how can i make an animation associate with a different key input? preferably without affecting the original (it dosent matter much, but itd be nice if it was only k for my shinatama, and p for the grunt)

edit*
so i think i messed up somewhere, cause it blamed on me... this would be easier if i knew what i was doing...
anyone willing to help me? i tried looking up what to do, but maybe im missing a step or something?

what i did was:

onisplit -extract:xml XML ..\GameDataFolder\level0_final\TRACshinatama_animations.oni
added
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMREDCOMpunch_heavy</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
as well as a few others,
saved it and then:
onisplit -create ..\GameDataFolder\level0_final\ XML\TRACshinatama_animations.xml
and finaly
onisplit -import:nosep ..\GameDataFolder\level0_final\ ..\GameDataFolder\level0_final.dat

Last edited by Phydur (04/21/09 21:04)


I intentionally spell dang, dange, FYI.

Offline

#2 04/21/09 22:04

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 08/30/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

You have to add both the TRAM to Shinny's TRAC, then you have to change the animation type to the one matching the one you want, which means making a new TRAM.


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#3 04/22/09 14:04

Phydur
Member
Registered: 01/13/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

Gumby wrote:

You have to add both the TRAM to Shinny's TRAC, then you have to change the animation type to the one matching the one you want, which means making a new TRAM.

im sorry, buy how do i change the animation type to the one i want?
what value(s) do i need to change?
since i'm making a new TRAM,
am I right in thinking that i could just copy TRAMELICOMthrow_bk and TRAMELICOMtrhow_bk_tgt
rename them TRAMSHICOMthrow_bk_k and TRAMSHICOMthrow_bk_k_tgt
change whatever values and then just add those into shinny's trac?
or would the new files mess up the game becaue there's more files then expected? but then what would i need to change.
but what values do i need to change?

im sorry, i reay dont know what im doing... i dont realy get it...
i dont even know im im using the right TRAMs...
is TRAMELICOM_throw_bk the one where the guy walks on your back?


I intentionally spell dang, dange, FYI.

Offline

#4 04/22/09 16:04

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 08/30/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

Ok. So you want to change the Elite's back running tackle into the same controls that Konoko's backbreaker uses?


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#5 04/22/09 17:04

Phydur
Member
Registered: 01/13/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

yeah.
well, technicly, i want to make shinatama do the elite's back running tackle into the same controls that konoko's backbreaker use. tongue
althogh.. hrm d'you think that wouldnt be a good idea?
see, what i want to do is give shinatama:
red's punch/kick combo, and the shift+kick move, as well as the red's ten-shadow punch, and the red's back punch disarm,
the ninja's face ride thing, the backward run flip kick,
ninja's piggy-back ride and the elite's back running tackle.
and the ninja's front pistol disarm.
the tanker's run_kick,
and sprinkle in a few of konoko's various moves to fill in the holes.
i want to give shinatama moves that a 'kid' like her might use, but take into acount the fact that she's made of metal. (hence the ninja's face ride thing)
maybe i should just not give shinny the ninja's back tackle.

is there anything I need to change, if I make new TRAMs?
sorry, if I knew what to do, i'd make a tutorial on the wiki, to go along with your move Tutorial page.
well, i supose i'll just keep trying till i figure it out on my own.
thanks for all your help... it feels like im always bothering you for this kind of thing.

Last edited by Phydur (04/22/09 17:04)


I intentionally spell dang, dange, FYI.

Offline

#6 04/22/09 18:04

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 08/30/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

Always happy to help teach modding. I'll post a short tutorial thing later tonight.


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#7 04/23/09 12:04

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 08/30/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

Step 1: Find the move you want to change the controls of
Step 2: Extract it to XML (duh tongue)
Step 3: Find the <Type>...</Type> tag
Step 4: Replace it with the Animation Type from the move you want
This list may be of use: http://geyser.oni2.net/anim/type.txt
It is basically the same as the names Onisplit uses, except Onisplit generally doesn't use underscores. Remember you can also do "Onisplit -help:enums" and look in the list there
Step 5: Do the same with <AimingType>, <Varient> (usually not needed), <Shortcuts> (usually needed!), and <DirectAnimations> (also neccessary)
Step 6: Rename the TRAM, and convert it back to .oni
Step 7: Add the new TRAM into the TRAC of the character you are changing. Make sure to remove any with the same anim type!
Step 8: Don't forget you have to do this for the tgt animations, too, if you are changing a throw!
Step 9: Rinse and repeat for any other animations
Step 10: Convert your TRAC back to .oni and -import your level0 folder. smile


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#8 04/23/09 22:04

Phydur
Member
Registered: 01/13/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

uhm, could you take a look at the edit in the first post?
im having problems,
thinkin maybe i made a typo, i tried just copy-pasting konoko's punch and kick combo's right into shinatama's TRAC file. but it still blams...
this is what it looks like

...
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMSHINATlev9_Shin03</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMSHINATlev9_Shin04</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMKONCOMcomb_k</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMKONCOMcomb_k_k</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMKONCOMcomb_k_k_k</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMKONCOMcomb_p</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMKONCOMcomb_p_p</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMKONCOMcomb_p_p_p</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
        </Animations>
    </Instance>
</Oni>

taking the actions mentioned in the first post...
why is it blaming?


I intentionally spell dang, dange, FYI.

Offline

#9 04/23/09 22:04

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 08/30/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

Try adding in PPK, too. At what point is it blamming?


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#10 04/23/09 22:04

Phydur
Member
Registered: 01/13/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

right after i double click run_wind.bat...


I intentionally spell dang, dange, FYI.

Offline

#11 04/23/09 22:04

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 08/30/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

Well, add in PPK. If that doesn't solve it I'll take a look after dinner.


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#12 04/23/09 22:04

Phydur
Member
Registered: 01/13/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

no good.
heres the whole thing:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<Oni Version="0.9.24.0">
    <Instance id="0" type="TRAC" name="shinatama_animations">
        <ParentCollection>TRACkonokocore_animations</ParentCollection>
        <Animations>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMSHINATsit</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMSHINATunsit</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMSHINATsit_idle</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMSHINATstand_heli</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMSHINATlev8_Kidnap01</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMSHINATlev10_sit</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMSHINATlev10_Sit2</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMSHINATlev10_SitSpaz</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMSHINATlev9_Shin01</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMSHINATlev9_Shin02</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMSHINATlev9_Shin03</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMSHINATlev9_Shin04</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMKONCOMcomb_k</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMKONCOMcomb_k_k</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMKONCOMcomb_k_k_k</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMKONCOMcomb_p</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMKONCOMcomb_p_p</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMKONCOMcomb_p_p_p</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
            <TRACAnimation>
                <Weight>100</Weight>
                <Animation>TRAMKONCOMcomb_p_p_k</Animation>
            </TRACAnimation>
        </Animations>
    </Instance>
</Oni>

I intentionally spell dang, dange, FYI.

Offline

#13 04/24/09 00:04

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 08/30/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

That worked perfectly for me. Make sure you don't have any TRAMs you've messed around with in your level0_Final.


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#14 04/27/09 12:04

Phydur
Member
Registered: 01/13/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

so I tried re-installing Oni completely, and I got a bunch  of errors, like file not found,
but it runs fine as far as i can tell... so i donno.
anyway, i tried to give shinatama the moves by extracting the TRACshinatama_animaions,
adding in the TRACanimations of those above, and then did the
onisplit -create ..\GameDataFolder\level0_final\ XML\TRACshinatama_animations.xml
and then
onisplit -import:nosep ..\GameDataFolder\level0_final\ ..\GameDataFolder\level0_final.dat
and  it still blamed.
so I'm at a loss... maybe there's a corrupt file or something...?


I intentionally spell dang, dange, FYI.

Offline

#15 04/27/09 13:04

paradox-01
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 01/14/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

Maybe your onisplit version cannot properly import TRAC (but export) because it's simply too old, dunno. Just give it a try and use the current version.

Re-extract TRAC, do your changes and convert back into .oni file.

Make also sure you haven't any xml file in your level0_Final folder when recombining.

Last edited by paradox-01 (04/27/09 13:04)

Offline

#16 04/27/09 14:04

Phydur
Member
Registered: 01/13/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

no good. i downloaded that verson, and replaced the onisplit that was in the install folder. extracted, modified and imported like normal... and blam!
hmm its definately me, because when i replace the three files (TRACshinatama_animations.oni,level0_final.dat,level0_final.raw) with the old ones it works fine....


I intentionally spell dang, dange, FYI.

Offline

#17 04/27/09 14:04

Phydur
Member
Registered: 01/13/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

on an unrelated subject, im just too lazy to make a new topic, the cheat "tellmetheversion" dosent seem to work for me....
dose it work for everyone else? the other ones like bigbadboss and kangaroo work fine, though.


I intentionally spell dang, dange, FYI.

Offline

#18 04/27/09 15:04

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 08/30/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

It doesn't work. smile It never did anything useful, but I'll see if it can be reimplemented. It is a bit useful. smile


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#19 04/27/09 15:04

Phydur
Member
Registered: 01/13/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

is there anything im not doing?
do i need to change anything besides those three files?
i mean, all im doing is adding those moves to the TRACshinatama_animations.xml file,
then importing them. is there another file im suposed to change?


I intentionally spell dang, dange, FYI.

Offline

#20 04/27/09 16:04

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 08/30/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

Nope. As a check, find a copy of your original TRAC and TRAMs and put it in, and see if it still blams.
If that works, add in a move to the TRAC, and still if it still works. If it does, you probably screwed up your TRAM. smile


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#21 04/27/09 23:04

Phydur
Member
Registered: 01/13/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

so i put in the original files, and it works.
then i typed
onisplit -extract:xml XML ..\GameDataFolder\level0_final\TRACshinatama_animations.oni
then
onisplit -create ..\GameDataFolder\level0_final\ XML\TRACshinatama_animations.xml
and
onisplit -import:nosep ..\GameDataFolder\level0_final\ ..\GameDataFolder\level0_final.dat
and tried running run_wind
and it blamed.
the Directory for Onisplit is
C:\Program Files\Oni\edition\install\onisplit.exe
any ideas why its not working?


I intentionally spell dang, dange, FYI.

Offline

#22 04/28/09 00:04

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 08/30/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

I hope you meant

onisplit -extract:xml  ..\GameDataFolder\level0_final\XML ..\GameDataFolder\level0_final\TRACshinatama_animations.oni
onisplit -create ..\GameDataFolder\level0_final\  ..\GameDataFolder\level0_final\XML\TRACshinatama_animations.xml

Regardless, it sounds like a bug in Onisplit. Download the newest version here: http://mods.oni2.net/sites/default/file … t.exe_.zip


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#23 04/28/09 15:04

Phydur
Member
Registered: 01/13/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

nope.
but it still didnt work.
im thinking maybe its my copy of oni, because of the scratches on the CD maybe...
as a check, how many files should be in my level0_final folder?
mine has 12009 (12010 if you count the XML folder)
the weird thing is that it works if i dont do anything.
however it is almost definately Onisplit (i am using version 9.37)
because if i take it in a working state (no changes), and only type
onisplit -import:nosep ..\GameDataFolder\level0_final\ ..\GameDataFolder\level0_final.dat
it will cause it to blam upon running it...
this is confusing, because it runs after running big_deal.
and using run_wind.
but if i try to use onisplit, it blams...

----
also,
it seems that i got a lot of these

LOG FILE FOR XDELTA3 PATCHES
ONCCstriker_dream_lab
xdelta3: target window checksum mismatch: 
ONCCCop_generic
xdelta3: target window checksum mismatch: 
ONCCninjabot2
xdelta3: target window checksum mismatch: 
TRMAninjabot2
xdelta3: target window checksum mismatch: 
TXMPninjabot2 (uncompressed)
xdelta3: source file too short: XD3_INTERNAL
TXMPninjabot2 (compressed)
ONWCw10_sni
xdelta3: target window checksum mismatch: 
TXMPw10_sni_tex
BINA3RAPw9_scr_e01b
BINA3RAPw9_scr_e02b
BINA3RAPw9_scr_x03a
... (more left out)

is that normal?

Last edited by Phydur (04/28/09 16:04)


I intentionally spell dang, dange, FYI.

Offline

#24 04/28/09 17:04

Gumby
Member
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Registered: 08/30/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

Yeah, it sounds like your data is corrupt. sad


Iritscen: roll
Iritscen: it's amazing this program even works
Gumby: i know
Iritscen: and that statement applies to my code, not just yours

Offline

#25 04/28/09 17:04

Phydur
Member
Registered: 01/13/07

Re: Changing a move's controls

dang.
is there any way i can get a good copy of the files?


I intentionally spell dang, dange, FYI.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB